ben harper

No Mercy In This Land

« No Mercy In This Land », nouvel album enregistré par Ben Harper et Charlie Musselwhite sera disponible à partir du 30 mars. Pré-commandes, infos, et concerts a venir sur

1. When I Go
2. Bad Habits
3. Love And Trust
4. The Bottle Wins Again
5. Found The One
6. When Love Is Not Enough
7. Trust You To Dig My Grave
8. No Mercy In This Land
9. Movin’ On
10. Nothing At All
11. The Bottle Wins Again (Live at Machine Shop – digital deluxe bonus track)
12. Trust You To Dig My Grave (Live at Machine Shop – digital deluxe bonus track)
13. No Mercy In This Land (Live at Machine Shop – digital deluxe bonus track)


Call It What It Is: le nouvel album est disponible

1. When Sex Was Dirty 3:50
2. Deeper And Deeper 4:02
3. Call It What It Is 3:47
4. How Dark Is Gone 3:38
5. Shine 3:55
6. All That Has Grown 3:25
7. Pink Balloon 2:22
8. Finding Our Way 4:15
9. Bones 3:21
10. Dance Like Fire 3:09
11. Goodbye To You 5:06


Format: CD
Total runtime: 40:50
Released Apr 08, 2016
Stax / Concord Music Group STX-35697-02
United States 8 88072 35697 9



Recorded and mixed by ETHAN ALLEN
Recorded at The Village, Los Angeles, CA
Mixed at Royal Triton, Los Angeles, CA


Mastered by GAVIN LURSSEN at Lurssen Mastering, Los Angeles, CA

Photography by DANNY CLINCH

The Innocent Criminals:

BEN HARPER − vocals, guitar, slide guitar
JUAN NELSON − bass, background vocals
LEON MOBLEY − percussion, bongos, cabasa, clave, congas, djembe, flexitone, music stand, shakere, tambourine, triangle, viber flap, wind chimes, whirly tube, background vocals
OLIVER CHARLES − drums, djun djun, background vocals
JASON YATES − Hammond B3, piano, Fender Rhodes, Wurlitzers, clavinet d6, guitar, background vocals
MICHAEL WARD − guitars, background vocals
JACLYN HARPER – additional vocals on « Pink Balloon »
CLAIRE WADSWORTH – additional vocals on « When Sex Was Dirty »

All songs written by BEN HARPER, BMG Gold Songs / Three Chord Symphony Music (ASCAP), except: « Deeper and Deeper » written by BEN HARPER and MICHAEL WARD, BMG Gold Songs / Three Chord Symphony Music (ASCAP) / Monkeyfeather Music (ASCAP); « How Dark Is Gone » written by BEN HARPER, JASON YATES and LEON MOBLEY, BMG Gold Songs / Three Chord Symphony Music (ASCAP) / Tocayos Music / Wixen Music Pub (BMI) / LEON MOBLEY Publishing (BMI); « Pink Balloon » written by BEN HARPER and JACLYN HARPER, BMG Gold Songs / Three Chord Symphony Music (ASCAP) / LEND2HANDS (ASCAP); « Finding Our Way » written by BEN HARPER and OLIVER CHARLES, BMG Gold Songs / Three Chord Symphony Music (ASCAP) / Scent Music (ASCAP).

Thank you:

BEN HARPER: My family and friends, The Folk Music Center, The Cove, Court House, Stoner, Roller Horror, Almost, Cliché, Central, Street Plant, Real, Stereo, Labor, Shut, Rip City, The Berrics, Jac, Claremont 7, D’Addario, Dumble, Billy Asher.

JUAN NELSON: First and foremost I want to thank God for blessing my life. Thanks to my family and friends for unconditional love and guidance. Thank you Ben Harper and The Innocent Criminals for reuniting and making this record a joy to work on. Thanks to D’Addario and Gallien-Krueger. Last but not least, thanks to our fans for all the love you’ve shown over the years. Gratefully yours, Juan.

LEON MOBLEY: I would like to thank JAH, Yvonne Mobley, Gerrie Mobley, Fatimah Mobley, Clarence Mobley, Dexter Johnson, REMO Inc., Remo Belly, Chris Hart, Istanbul Cymbals, Mehmet Tamdeger, Manton Daley, Vic Firth Sticks, Kelly Firth, Joe Testa, DW/Gon, Bops, Scott Donnell, Don Lombardi, Kotzen Drums, Mike Kotzen, Nas, Damian Marley, Mike Levy.

OLIVER CHARLES: I would like to thank my family and friends. Gogol Bordello Crew, Mariachi El Bronx Crew, Ocean 11 Crew, all the LAmusicians, Yamaha, Paiste, Vic Firth, Hepcat, and Evans, RhythmRoots Allstars, Dakah, Soul Of John Black.

JASON YATES: The native called Flies Away who carried a drum all the way to the top of Mt. Whitney that still awaits there to be played. Larry Strauss for simultaneously befriending me and coming to my defense. And the universe for showing me the way to Aimee.

MICHAEL WARD: I wish to thank Tennessee and Odin Von Ward, Janet and Bill Bradley, Tracy and Chad Hartfiel, Rich Ward, Hugh Gilmartin at D’Addario, George Starks, Tim Godwin at Taylor Guitars, Todd Von Cloninger, Larry Strauss.

The band would like to thank: Our crew, Red Light Management, Concord/Stax, Shore Fire Media, Ethan Allen, Gavin Conaty, Elliot Groffman, Rod MacSween, Diana Pereira, Janine Small, Jennifer Specland, Randy Sugarman.

Bentley RIP

Management: WILL BOTWIN and CHRISTINE KANE for Red Light Management
Web & Digital Management: GAVIN CONATY

(P) & (C) 2016 Ben Harper. Under exclusive license to Concord Music Group, Inc., 100 N. Crescent Drive, Beverly Hills, CA 90210. All Rights Reserved.
Other Versions

Call It What It Is (Vinyl)United States STX-38802-01

Vidéo: « Call It What It Is » video avec les paroles

Extrait du site Esquire:

« As for this lyric video, which Esquire is proud to premiere, Harper says, ‘This is a problem of such profound moment, and yet it’s ancient, too. So it’s clear that we simply can’t talk about it enough. We cannot be silent. Humbly, I wanted those words—’Call It What It Is’—to be the writing on the wall. And so, for the video, we did just that. The artist is Andy Dolan. Can you imagine? He writes better with a spray can than I do with a pen. That wall is in Flatbush, Brooklyn, indoors. Andy can’t get arrested for public vandalism, or it’s trouble for him. So we just found him a nice wall to rent and render something beautiful. It’s an installation! I would imagine they painted over it, unless they have really good taste.' »

Accéder à l’article complet sur Esquire


Cliquez acheter vos places en exclusivité, avant l’ouverture de la billetterie classique ce vendredi !

Sep 2016
22 – Copenhagen, DK / Falconer Salen
24 – Hamburg, DE / Mehr! Theater
25 – Berlin, DE / Columbiahalle
27 – Vienna, AT / Konzerthaus
28 – Prague, CZ / Forum Karlín
30 – Cologne, DE / Palladium

Oct 2016
01 – Munich, DE / Kesselhaus
03 – Zürich, CH / Hallenstadion
04 – Grenoble, FR / Le Summum
06 – Geneva, CH / Arena de Genève
07 – Milan, IT / Mediolanum Forum
09 – Nice, FR / Palais Nikaïa
11 – Toulouse, FR / Le Zénith
12 – Clermont-Ferrand, FR / Zénith
14 – Paris, FR / AccorHotels Arena (Bercy)
15 – Strasbourg, FR / Zénith Europe
17 – Dijon, FR / Le Zénith de Dijon
18 – Brussels, BE / Forest National
20 – Lille, FR / Zénith Arena Lille
21 – Esch-sur-Alzette, LU / Rockhal
24 – Amsterdam, NL / Paradiso
26 – London, GB / O2 Academy Brixton

Toutes les dates officielles de concerts:
Ben Harper Forum:

Téléchargement gratuit du Live From Red Rocks, pour toute pré-commande de Call It What It Is

To celebrate the new album and June 26 return to Red Rocks with very special guest City and Colour, all Ben Harper Shop CD & Vinyl pre-orders of Call It What It Is include an exclusive download of « Live From Red Rocks Amphitheatre 9.15.15″* – unavailable anywhere else!

*MP3 download code will be emailed April 8, 2016 with new album.


1. Gold To Me
2. Homeless Child
3. Forgiven
4. In The Colors
5. Diamonds On The Inside
6. Burn One Down
7. Excuse Me Mr.
8. Don’t Take That Attitude To Your Grave
9. Brown Eyed Blues
10. Steal My Kisses
11. Ground On Down
12. Where Could I Go
13. Walk Away
14. Another Lonely Day
15. Forever
16. Amen Omen

Visit the Ben Harper Shop for details!