Warning: Parameter 2 to qtranxf_postsFilter() expected to be a reference, value given in /homepages/22/d215838310/htdocs/wordpress/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 286
February, 2014 | BenHarper.fr

Monthly Archives: February 2014

Childhood Home: release on Mother’s Day

Ben Harper has just completed recording an album of duets with his mother, singer-songwriter Ellen Chase-Verdries. The 10-track record, Childhood Home, is all originals written by Harper and Chase-Verdries and will be released on Mother’s Day.

“It’s produced like early Elvis. Not one thing is plugged in. It’s all acoustic,” Harper said. “I think they’re going to call it ‘Americana,’ but it’s soul, California, folk rock, American.”


Ben’s version of Mazzy Star’s “Fade Into You” is available now on “Sweetheart 2014” exclusively at Starbucks and digital outlets. Check out more at www.sweetheartalbum.com.

Download it at:
Amazon MP3


Press Release:

Ben Harper is known mainly for his guitar chops, but he’s putting down the axe for his contribution to Starbucks’ Sweetheart 2014 compilation album. Instead, he pulls up a piano stool and delivers a gentle cover of Mazzy Star’s 1994 single “Fade into You”.

It’s an interesting choice, considering the original version is driven as much by acoustic guitar as piano keys, but Harper is going for a different feel with his rendition. By paring the track down to slow, full piano chords, Harper imbues it with a haunting sense of loss. The wavering of his voice as he enters the chorus does little to mask the delicate sadness as he sings Hope Sandoval’s words. Take a listen below.

“Fade into You” is just one of 13 covers of popular love songs featured on Sweetheart 2014, available exclusively in Starbucks stores or digitally via Concord Music Group. While we’ve also already heard Vampire Weekend’s take on “Con te Partirò”, Beck do John Lennon’s “Love”, and Fiona Apple cover Anton Karas’s “I’m in the Middle of a Riddle”, the album also features contributions by Jim James and Phosphorescent. See the full tracklist below.

Sweetheart 2014 Tracklist:
01. Jim James – “Turn Your Lights Down Low” (Bob Marley cover)
02. Vampire Weekend – “Con Te Partirò” (Inspired by the Andrea Bocelli recording)
03. Beck – “Love” (John Lennon cover)
04. Phosphorescent – “Tomorrow Is a Long Time” (Bob Dylan cover)
05. The Head and the Heart – “Don’t Forget Me” (Harry Nilsson cover)
06. Valerie June – “Happy or Lonesome” (The Carter Family cover)
07. Bahamas – “Always on My Mind” (Willie Nelson cover)
08. Thao – “If You Were Mine” (Ray Charles cover)
09. Ben Harper – “Fade into You” (Mazzy Star cover)
10. Fiona Apple – “I’m in the Middle of a Riddle” (Anton Karas cover)
11. Brandi Carlile – “The Chain” (Fleetwood Mac cover)
12. Blake Mills – “I Hope” (Bobby Charles cover)
13. Sharon Jones – “Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours” (Stevie Wonder cover)

Source: benharper.com
Source: consequenceofsound.net

Iphone: Ben Harper free app

Benharper.fr and Idtonic are pleased to release the Ben Harper app, this free app is dedicated to spreading good music and provides all the current news and tour schedule. Fans will enjoy videos, audio and photos. We wanted to use new technology to improve upon a much-loved fan experience. In the next version we will integrate more social part.

Special thanks to Dave, from IDTONIC Agency.
Without you this app would not exist ! Thank you again

Download BH app: https://itunes.apple.com/fr/app/bh-music/id681274153?mt=8

Ben Harper – Welcome to the Cruel World (20th Anniversary)

Celebrating the 20th Anniversary of “Welcome to the Cruel World” with new version of the song.

iTunes – http://smarturl.it/BenHarperWTTCW
CD at Amazon – http://smarturl.it/BenHarperWTTCW-a
MP3 at Amazon – http://smarturl.it/BenHarperMP3
Spotify – http://smarturl.it/BenHarperWTTCW-s
Vinyl – http://www.benharper.biz/wetocrwo.html

Ben Harper – Vocals, Weissenborn
Jimmy Paxson – Drums
Jason Yates – Piano
Matt Cory – Bass
Tim Loo – Cello
Alyssa Park – Violin
Caroline Buckman – Viola

Produced by Casual Thinking for Ben Harper
Directed and edited by J. García
Director of Photography – Pablo Espada

Recorded and mixed by Ethan Allen